Another preview

By: gregmccann

Jan 23 2012

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/8
Focal Length:6mm
ISO:80
Shutter:1/400 sec
Camera:DMC-FZ7

looking towards the barrier mountains

From Chapter 4:

We emerged from the canopy up into the golden light of the grasslands like two moles forced out of their subterranean dwellings by some urgent but unknown reason. The light washed my eyes and my face, and I hoped that Richard was feeling the epiphany that I felt when I first climbed up onto this strange and inexplicable world of savannas one year ago.

“This is, like, some kind of biological frontier,” he remarked as we made our way up the narrow valley that opens onto Cambodia’s Serengeti.

And there it was again. Twice in a lifetime, the landscape of my dreams spread out before us, and beyond it, the spirit mountain looming dark and beautiful. For some reason it looked farther away and less inviting than it did last time, but like before, I could not take my eyes off it.

“Now you know,” I said to Richard. “This is it. This is the place I have been obsessing over –these grasslands, and those mountains beyond.”

I pointed out Haling Halang, and explained how the ridgeline served as the boundary between Laos and Cambodia –a boundary chosen by the French in 1904 when this region was severed from the former and “returned” to the Khmers.

“In its own way, this rivals the Himalayas,” Richard said, taking in the vistas.

Soukhon, Kam-La, and Mr. Su joined us.

“Wonderful!!!” shouted Mr. Su, dropping his pack and laughing out loud.

powerful spirits inhabit this mountain, which rises up from the Veal Thom Grasslands

 

Leave a Reply

